Concealed Weapons Permits

New CCW Permits

This section details how to obtain a new Concealed Weapons Permit.

Click here to download a concealed weapons permit application:

California Department of Justice Standard Application
for License to Carry a Concealed Weapon (CCW)

The authority to carry a concealed weapon is set forth in California Penal Code Sections 26150–26225. These sections state in part:

PC 26150 (b)(1,2) "The sheriff may issue a license under subdivision (a) in either of the following formats: (1) A license to carry concealed a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person. (2) Where the population of the county is less than 200,000 persons according to the most recent federal decennial census, a license to carry loaded and exposed in only that county a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person."

There is no state law that entitles a person to be issued a license to carry a concealed weapon.

Applicants must complete ALL pages within the application packet (disregard the instructions listed on the application). This includes the pages that are titled Investigator's Interview Notes.

The applicant shall fill out every page in the packet, but shall not sign nor date any of the pages. Failure to complete the above mentioned portions of the application prior to coming to your scheduled appointment will result in a delay of processing your application.

Upon completion of the application, contact a member of the CCW unit at the Fresno County Sheriff's Office at (559) 600-8515 Monday through Friday to schedule an appointment for an interview.  Do Not mail this application back to the Sheriff's Office.  Please bring this application with you when you come in for your interview.

It is the policy of the Fresno County Sheriff's Office to review each application for a License to Carry a Concealed Weapon. All applicants will receive written notice whether the application is approved or denied within 90 days of the application being received by the Fresno County Sheriff's Office.

Approved applicants will be required to pay a $208 processing fee, which consists of a $76 California state fee, a $17 FBI fingerprint fee, and a $115 Fresno County Sheriff's background investigation fee.  Approved applicants are required to be fingerprinted and must also provide a certificate showing their proof of completion of the six-hour CCW firearm training course. The course must be taken from a DOJ and Fresno County Sheriff's Office approved CCW instructor (instructor list is located on the website).

Other Requirements:

  • All weapons listed on the permit must be registered to you or your spouse.
  • If you intend to carry your CCW at your place of employment you will need to furnish an original, signed letter of authorization from your employer stating he acknowledges that you will be carrying a firearm while working, and that you have the company's permission to do so.  If you are the owner of the business, you are exempt from this requirement.
  • It is a requirement that you are a primary resident of Fresno County.

Contact Information

Concealed Weapons Permit Unit
(559) 600-8515

S5 Box

Scroll to Top